Skip to page body Home About Us City Services Home & Community Business & Development Having Fun I Want to...
Thu, Jan 29 Sunny, 59°F icon of current weather

Police Recognition Patch

The Carrollton Police Department has been recognized by the Texas Police Chief’s Association as a “Recognized Agency” as part of their Best Practices Recognition Program. The Recognition Program is a voluntary process where police agencies in Texas prove their compliance with 164 Texas Law Enforcement Best Practices. These Best Practices were carefully developed by Texas Law Enforcement professionals to assist agencies in the efficient and effective delivery of service, the reduction of risk and the protection of individual’s rights. The Recognition Program assures both City Leaders and the citizens of Carrollton that their Police Department is operating in a manner that reflects the current Best Practices of Law Enforcement and we are proud of this accomplishment.

The Carrollton Police Department is authorized 162 Police Officers, 43 civilians (including Detention Officers and support staff), and 40 part-time school crossing guards serving a very diverse community of 122,000 citizens in about 37 square miles. The Police Department is divided into two operational bureaus, each led by an Assistant Chief of Police.


The Operations Bureau is comprised of the Patrol Division, Special Services Division, and Joint Special Operations Division. The Patrol Division provides continuous coverage through vehicle and bicycle patrols, a traffic unit, and the K9 Unit. The Special Services Division is responsible for the operation of the detention facility as well as the Police Equipment Specialists and crossing guards. A Joint Special Operations Commander oversees critical operations when needed, which includes Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT), Crisis Negotiations, and Warrant Service Team personnel.


The Investigative and Management Services Bureau is comprised of the Criminal Investigations Division, Intelligence Division and Administrative Services Division. The Criminal Investigations Division contains both Property Crimes and Crimes Against Persons detectives, as well as the School Resource Officer program. The Intelligence Division consists of covert investigations, criminal intelligence gathering and crime analysis detectives. The Administrative Services Division is comprised of specialized officers and employees to include Personnel, Training, Internal Affairs, Public Affairs, Records Management and Strategic Support and Assessment.


Last updated: 6/24/2013 4:02:28 PM