Skip to page body Home About Us City Services Home & Community Business & Development Having Fun I Want to...
Mon, Nov 30 Cloudy, 48°F icon of current weather

Section Supervisor - Sergeant Joe Nault:

School Resource Officers

The School Resource Officer (SRO) program is a partnership between the Carrollton Police Department and the Carrollton-Farmers Branch(CFBISD) and Lewisville Independent School Districts (LISD). SRO’s are full-time Carrollton Police officers assigned to all secondary schools within CFBISD and LISD. These officers also have responsibility for the elementary schools in each of these districts.

In this position, SRO’s fulfill three roles:
1. Law enforcement Officer
2. Teacher
3. Counselor

The primary objective of the SRO program is the reduction and prevention of crimes committed by juveniles and young adults. The goals of the program are:
1. Serve as a liaison officer to schools within the city boundaries.
2. Act as a resource with respect to delinquency prevention.
3. Provide guidance on ethical issues in a classroom setting.
4. Provide individual counseling and or/mentoring to students
5. Explain the law enforcement role in society.
6. Establish a rapport with students.
7. Establish a rapport with parents, faculty, staff, administrators, and other adults.
8. Promote a safe learning environment.
9. Enhance safety in and around schools.
10. Present a positive role model for students and adults.
11. Investigate all criminal activities that occur on school campuses.

A Brief History:

The Carrollton Police Department’s School Resource Officer (SRO) program began in 1975 with the placement of an officer in the Carrollton-Farmer’s Branch Independent School District. In 1976, Carrollton PD and CFBISD entered into their first inter-local agreement. By 1979, the SRO program was expanded to two officers. Over the years, CPD has continued to expand the SRO program to a total of five officers currently assigned to CFBISD schools to help meet the needs of the increasing student population in Carrollton.

In 1999, CPD assigned its first officer to Hebron High School to serve all school campuses within LISD. In 2008, CPD assigned its second SRO to LISD. CPD currently has seven SRO’s assigned to cover the schools within the city limits of Carrollton.

The current School Resource Officers and their assignments are:


School Resource Officer


Sgt. Joseph Nault

SRO Supervisor

Officer Jason Box

RL Turner HS, Central Primary & Elementary, Carrollton, and McLaughlin Elementary

Officer Shanna Weissmann

Polk MS, Blalack MS, Blanton Elementary, Davis Elementary, Marie Huie Special Education Center

Officer Cole Langston

Hebron 9th Grade Center, Arbor Creek MS, Hebron Valley Elementary, Homestead Elementary, and Indian Creek Elementary

Officer Kevin Stiles

Creekview HS,  Kent Elementary, Rainwater Elementary, and Rosemeade Elementary

Officer Shannon Hartzell

Dewitt Perry MS, Bea Salazar (AEP), Mary Grimes, Country Place Elementary, and Good Elementary

Officer Whitt Smith

Newman Smith HS, Furneaux Elementary, McCoy Elementary, and Thompson Elementary

Officer Gregg Anderson

Hebron HS, Creek Valley MS, Coyote Ridge Elementary and Polser Elementary

Links to school district websites:

Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD

Lewisville ISD



Last updated: 5/23/2014 10:01:49 AM